Motorcycle Licensing, Training & Insurance
Seeing Ohio from behind the handlebars of a motorcycle is a much different experience than driving a car. Be sure to take the proper steps to learn how to ride a motorcycle and get properly licensed to legally operate a motorcycle in Ohio. Not sure where to start, keep reading to find out!
Getting a Motorcycle License in Ohio
Motorcycle Testing & Permits
Anyone who wants to ride a motorcycle or motor scooter in Ohio must obtain a motorcycle or motor scooter license or endorsement. Visit your local Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles’ office with valid proof of identification.
You will need to pass the vision screening, motorcycle or motor scooter knowledge test, obtain a temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC), complete the Motorcycle Ohio Basic Course and/or pass the skills test and pay the motorcycle license fee to get a motorcycle license.
Training, Skills Testing & License Types
To prepare for the Ohio motorcycle or motor scooters skills test, study the Ohio Motorcycle Operator’s Manual and the Motorcycle/Scooters & Motorized Bicycles Regulations section of the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws.
The type of motorcycle or vehicle you plan on riding will determine what kind of motorcycle license or endorsement you’ll need to get. There are three types of motorcycle licenses:
- 2-wheeled motorcycle or motorized vehicle license or endorsement
- 3-wheeled motorcycle or motorized vehicle license or endorsement
- Motor scooter license or endorsement
How to get an Ohio TIPIC
You must be a minimum of 15-1/2-years-old and complete an eye test and pass the written knowledge test at any driver exam station. Be sure to bring proof of your full legal name, date of birth and social security number. If you fail the written test, you must wait at least 24 hours before re-taking the test (you can take it as many times as you need).
Once you have passed the vision and knowledge test, you will then have 60 days to purchase a motorcycle or motor scooter TIPIC from a deputy of register license agency. Along with the appropriate fee, you will need to bring the documents you provided for your knowledge test as well as proof of Ohio residency and citizenship or legal presence. See the full list of acceptable documents. If you are under the age of 18, a parent or guardian must accompany you and show identification (either driver’s license or ID card) to co-sign for the TIPIC. This will also be required when getting your license.
Your TIPIC is valid for one year. If it expires before you obtain your motorcycle or motor scooter license or endorsement, you must start over.
While operating a motorcycle with a TIPIC, you must always carry your TICIP and obey the following rules:
- Ride only during daylight hours
- Do not carry passengers
- Do not ride on interstates or congested roads
- Wear a helmet and protective eyewear
Motorcycle Skills Test
If you are 18 or older, you can schedule your skills test whenever you feel ready. The test will take place on an off-street course. Be sure to show up ready for the test and be prepared with the following:
- Your valid TIPIC
- Proper safety gear – wear a helmet and protective eyewear
- A street legal motorcycle or motor scooter in safe working condition
Once You Pass the Skills Test
If you pass the skills test, you can go to a deputy register to purchase your motorcycle or motor scooter license or endorsement. Be sure to do this before your TIPIC expires or you will need to start all over.
Successfully completing the Motorcycle Ohio Basic Course will waive the requirement of the motorcycle skills test for 60 days from the date the completion card is issued.
Riders Under Age 18
Riders under the age of 18 have restriction and must complete additional requirements before getting their license or endorsement.
Ohio Motorcycle Insurance
You must obtain motorcycle insurance to ride a motorcycle in Ohio. The minimum insurance required by law in Ohio is as follows:
- Bodily injury liability insurance per person: $25,000
- Bodily injury liability insurance per accident: $50,000
- Property damage liability insurance: $25,000
These are the same minimum insurance requirements for driving a car within Ohio.
Motorcycle & Powersport Insurance for Riders Only
You now have the information you need to get your motorcycle license or endorsement in Ohio but you might still be unsure about the right insurance coverage for you. Learn about motorcycle and off-road insurance.
To get notified when Boundless Rider motorcycle and powersport insurance is available in your state, click below.
The content included on this website is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. For complete and up-to-date information, please review the links within this article, section or page, and visit the applicable state and governmental agency websites.